Woody Allen on the Street (by pixplz)

When I heard that movie director Woody Allen was going to be filming in my part of town today, I thought it would be a good opportunity to do some street photography. So, I went over to where the crew was working at Gaspare’s Pizza House & Italian Restaurant on Geary Street, and here’s what I got!

Who’s the first person I see at the corner of 19th and Geary? Wouldn’t you know it – a fucking cop! Maybe I should’ve left my black hoodie at home?

Cop near the set of the Woody Allen movie in San Francisco

A handful of folks hung around to watch . . .

People hanging out near the set of the Woody Allen movie in San Francisco

People hanging out near the set of the Woody Allen movie in San Francisco

The crew didn’t seem to mind us being there, as long as we kept our voices low. There was a lot of shushing.

Woody Allen film crew member shushing a dude

San Francisco is a great place both for making movies and for doing street photography . . .

Woody Allen film crew member taking pictures in San Francisco

Hey Woody, you’re missing some of the best shots!

Everyday life inside the Moscow & Tbilisi Bakery Store, a couple of doors over from Gaspare’s:

Someone on the phone in the Moscow & Tbilisi Bakery Store in San Francisco

Shortly before taking a lunch break, the director stepped out of the restaurant . . .

Woody Allen in San Francisco on the set of his new movie

So I walked over to get a closer look:

Woody Allen in San Francisco on the set of his new movie

What do you think, are you gonna see the new Woody Allen film? Why or why not? Tell us in the comments!

15 thoughts on “Woody Allen on the Street (by pixplz)

  1. Eve Batey Post author

    I’m not the biggest Allen fan (I like Manhattan Murder Mystery and Match Point more than, like Interiors which I think makes me a bit of a Philistine in the minds of “true fans”) but I totally will, just because I want to see how he uses SF. What can I say, I watched Trauma for the same reason. Pixplz, will you go see it?

    1. Leila Radan

      I will totally see it for that very reason. I AM a fan but of a few movies, not all. The classic ones I am supposed to love I don’t… especially his older work. But I am very curious to see what SF story he’s come up with, how the city is used and how it’ll resonate with locals.

  2. gdewar

    Great photos. I haven’t seen one of his films in a while, but I’ll see it. Then again I’ll watch almost anything with SF in it (I too endured “trauma” just for the HD shots of the city). Supposedly they are filming a scene in the Inner Sunset but no one seems to know if that is true and if so WHERE.

    1. pixplz Post author

      Thanks, Greg! I hadn’t heard that about the Inner Sunset.

      Please, let there be a montage in this movie, like the one at the beginning of Manhattan!!

  3. Pingback: Photos: Woody Allen spotted at Gaspare’s during shoot for new film | Richmond SF Blog

  4. Jessica

    You got some great shots! It seems like he’s always wearing that hat these days — even in the nastiest fog. Like the other commenters, I’m looking forward to seeing how much of a character the city has in the film.

  5. Therese

    Nice! These are such great photos. I especially like the one taken of the Moscow & Tbilisi Bakery Store. Can’t wait till you have your own show! Certainly these images make you want to visit SF.

Comments are closed.